AlienVault® USM Anywhere™

User Management

Because USM Anywhere manages important security functions for your organization, the system requires that all users log inLog in (verb): Process in which an individual gains access to a computer system after providing sufficient credentials to authenticate their unique identity. Login (noun): User credentials, typically a username and matching password. with a user name and a password. See Role-Based Access Control (RBAC) in USM Anywhere for more information about the rolesTasks and responsibilities based on job description and position within an organization. A user's role is often used to define access to functionality and privileges to perform specific tasks and operations. in USM Anywhere.

USM Anywhere collects information about when a user logs into the system and what the user does. This information is available in USM Anywhere when you go to Settings > System Events.

When the first user links to a newly-provisioned USM Anywhere environment, they configure the password for the initial user account. This is the default administrator as defined in your subscription and this user account cannot be deleted. The Settings > Users page provides tools to add, edit, and remove other user accounts in the system.

If you want to protect your USM Anywhere account, enable MFA for your user account. When this feature is activated, USM Anywhere displays the Multi-Factor Authentication page to prompt you to complete your MFA configuration. The displayed page provides a unique QR code that is used by the Authenticator app to retrieve a verification code. See Using Multi-Factor Authentication for more information about this security configuration.

Note: AT&T Cybersecurity recommends that users enable MFA for their account. MFA adds extra security because it requires multiple factors to authenticateProcess used to verify the identity of a user, user device, or other entity, usually through a username and password. a user, making it more difficult for an unauthorized person to gain access to the account.

Users can access settings for their own account and log out of the system by clicking the icon in the upper right corner of the page.

Topics covered in this section include: