Regulated Deployment Access

With USM Central, users with a Manager role can assign Analyst and Read-Only users access to specified connected deployments. Giving an Analyst or Read-Only user access to a designated set of specific deployments will limit the view to only those deployments for which they have been assigned, and hide any details related to other deployments.

Existing Analyst and Read-Only users have access to all deployments by default, but a Manager can change access at any time by editing a user's account settings. When you create a new Read-Only or Analyst user, you can choose to assign select deployments or allow access to all deployments at that time. Deployments that are added at a later time will be accessible to users with All Deployments access, while users with Select Deployment access will not be able to view the newly added deployment until access is specifically granted to their account.

Analysts with Select Deployments access can create labels in USM Central, but they are unable to edit or delete any USM Central labels. Read-Only and Analyst users can view the list of the deployments they have access to by clicking on the icon and selecting My Settings. For more information on role permissions, see Role-Based Access Control (RBAC) in USM Central.

Note: Changes to deployment access that are made during the Analyst or Read-Only user's session will not be effective until they log out and log back into the system or are issued a new Multi-Factor Authentication after 24 hours.

Add or Edit Deployment Access

You can define a user's access to deployments in the user’s account settings. Deployment access can also be defined for a user when you Creating Users.

To edit a user’s deployment access

  1. Go to Settings > Users.
  2. Click the icon next to the user whose access you want to edit.
  3. In the Deployment section of the Edit User window, click the button related to the settings you want to apply.
    • Click All Deployments if you want the user to have visibility over all connected deployments.
    • Click Select Deployments if you want to designate specific deployments.
  4. If you click the Select Deployments button, the connected deployments will display below.

    Check the box for each of the deployments you want the user to have access to.

  5. Click Save.

Options for selecting user deployment access